Local energy agency of Porto

AdEPorto – Energy Agency of Porto is a private, non-profit association created on March 1, 2007 at the initiative of the Municipality of Porto with the support of the Intelligent Energy Europe Program and with the adhesion of a wide range of entities representative of the activity economic, scientific and social. 

In 2010, with the support of ON2, AdEPorto acquired a metropolitan area with the admission of most of the Municipalities of the Porto Metropolitan Area to the North of the Douro River: Gondomar, Maia, Matosinhos, Póvoa de Varzim, Santo Tirso, Trofa and Vila of the Conde, joined by Valongo in 2015. It currently operates in a territory of more than 800 km 2 covering about a tenth of the Portuguese population.

AdEPorto’s mission is to promote innovation, good practice and examples to be followed by those responsible for municipal management and, in general, with all market players and citizens, contributing to sustainable development through use of energy and its interface with the environment. AdEPorto intends to be a leading organization in addressing the issue of energy in the municipal domain, contributing to the transition to more efficient and sustainable energy systems.


AdEPorto is a member of Energy Cities since 2011


1 034 976 Inhabitants