Mission of Energy Cities' Board of Directors

The 11 Board members make sure the interests of cities stay always at the heart of European energy and climate policies.

Board meeting Feb 2019, Paris

Photo by Energy Cities

The group regularly meets with European policy-makers to share cities’ needs and strengthen local level participation in EU decision-making.

The Board meets 3 times per year to take strategic political decisions and to discuss the general orientation of Energy Cities’ activities. It also ensures the sound financial management of the organisation.

Cities behind the Board of Directors

The belgian City of Leuven currently holds the Presidency of the network. 11 European cities compose the Board of Directors:

  • Brasov (Romania)
  • Heidelberg (Germany)
  • Križevci (Croatia)
  • Leuven (Belgium)
  • Modena (Italy)
  • Munchen (Germany)
  • Nantes (France)
  • Porto (Portugal)
  • Valencia (Spain)
  • Växjö (Sweden)
  • Vienna (Austria)

As Observer:

  • Gabrovo (Bulgaria)
  • Delft (The Netherlands)

Each Board has a mandate of three years.