EcoEnergy – Municipal Energy Efficiency Network

The Municipal Energy Efficiency Network EcoEnergy is a non-profit organization of Bulgarian municipalities for mutual support and activities related to the local policies for effective use of traditional and alternative energy resources and for ensuring energy safety and opportunities for sustainable development of the municipalities.

EcoEnergy has been established as an informal voluntary association of Bulgarian municipalities in 1997. The initiative came from the mayors of 23 municipalities: Belene, Blagoevgrad, Bourgas, Varna, Vidin, Gabrovo, Gorna Oryahovitza, City of Dobrich, Zlatograd, Kazanlyk, Karlovo, Kotel, Montana, Omurtag, Pazardzhik, Pleven, Razgrad, Ruse, Sliven, Slivnitza, Stara Zagora, Haskovo and Yambol. 

The Network foundation and its first steps were supported by USAID in the framework of the Municipal Energy Efficiency Initiative project. Between April 1998 and May 2004 its activities were supported mainly by the project Energy Efficiency Strategy to Mitigate GHG Emissions. Energy Efficiency Demonstration Zone in Gabrovo, financed by GEF through UNDP.

In April 2003 the participants in the Fifth Conference of the informal association decided to make the association official through its legal registration. On 27 October 2003 an official announcement of Sofia City Court has been published for registration of a non-profit association under the name Municipal Energy Efficiency Network EcoEnergy. 


EcoEnergy – Municipal Energy Efficiency Network is a member of Energy Cities since 2003