Union of Baltic Cities

The Union of the Baltic Cities was founded in 1991 as a voluntary network of active cities from all countries around the Baltic Sea. The network and its members work towards a democratic, economic, social, cultural and environmentally sustainable development of the Baltic Sea region. At the moment there are around 100 member cities in the UBC.

UBC Sustainable Cities Commission is one of the 7 commissions of the Union of the Baltic Cities and it is hosted by the City of Turku, Finland.

The UBC Sustainable Cities Commission is responsible for

  • the Union´s work on  sustainability issues
  • coordinating the Union’s entire UBC Sustainability Action Programme and
  • managing numerous projects in the field of urban sustainability,

The UBC Sustainable Cities Commission is coordinated by three co-chairpersons in close cooperation with the Head of the UBC Secretariat of Sustainable Cities Commission and the Advisory Board. In addition the work of UBC Sustainable Cities Commission is dependent on the interest and need of UBC member cities to propose activities and take a role in our common cooperation.

Source : UBC official website


Union of Baltic Cities is a member of Energy Cities since 2008