Brest Métropole

Brest Métropole was officially launched as a ‘metropolis’ in 2015 and is amongst the smallest cities in France to be recognised as a metropolis. It combines 8 municipalities; Brest, Bohars, Gouesnou, Guilers, Guipavas, Le Relecq-Kerhuon, Plougastel-Daoulas and Plouzané.

Although small in size, Brest Métropole is ambitious in its plans to be a sustainable city for its citizens. Since 2012 it has taken control of the management of drinking water and sanitation, installed a tramway, committed to protecting the 70% of its area dedicated to agricultural and natural spaces and launched several initiatives to reduce energy consumption including more efficient buildings, renovating schools, rationalisation of energy consumption through their ecowatt programme and the promotion of solar thermal and photovoltaics.


Brest Métropole is a member of Energy Cities since 2010


210 572 Inhabitants


100%RES – Recommendation 2 : Creating new urban-rural partnerships

Local governments want to get involved and participate in the economic development of their area together with new, game-changing stakeholders, cooperatives and smaller businesses. Rural […]

Construction of the biomass boiler powered by wood chips

Keywords Biomass / wood, district heating, renewable energy sources Main photos (see pdf file) Objectives of the action The Urban Community of Brest (Brest Métropole Océane) has […]