Clermont Auvergne Métropole

Clermont Auvergne Métropole brings together 21 communes in the centre of France. In 2015 it became a ‘Positive Energy for Green Growth’ city and in 2017 it launched it’s “Energy Transition” expertise. As part of the energy transition Clermont Auvergne Métropole implements renewable energy development actions throughout its territory, as well as measures to reduce consumption and greenhouse gas emissions. These include launching district heating initiatives, an ambitious renewable energy development programme, and a ‘Right to Plant’ plan which encourages the greening of the city. All of this is done to reduce emissions and highlight the important role of local resources in ensuring a shared energy transition.


Clermont Auvergne Métropole is a member of Energy Cities since 2015


280 000 Inhabitants